The Caterpillar by Errol Fern

The Caterpillar My rating: 4STARS

I received a message from the author, Errol Fern, asking if I’m interested in reviewing his children’s book. My Goodreads friends and followers are aware that I regularly love to check out children’s books, so I didn’t hesitate to grab the opportunity being offered by the author.
The Caterpillar
Readers might have read a similar fable story but what I like in this book is that I assume some readers could relate to this fictional tale. The narrative is intended for younger kids but if we, older readers, could think beyond the story, there are several issues that were discussed in it. At the beginning of the story, having low self-esteem and depression were clearly talked about. Even the issue of eating healthy food was also mentioned; it could be associated with several eating disorders such as Selective Eating Disorder or Avoidant/ Restrictive Food Intake Disorder (ARFID) and bulimia.
The Caterpillar
Several of the millennials are experiencing one or some of these problems right now, and I like how the author, unconsciously or not, has incorporated them in this children’s book. Trusting and having your friends (family and loves ones) around to help you during the dark times, which was depicted by the firefly, is the best way of dealing with these ordeals. Also, I love how the firefly helped and became the light, both literally and figuratively speaking, of the caterpillar in the story.

The author is apparently has a lot of potential as a writer and I really hope that this book and his future works will make it big.

Leave a comment